Time’s Up

Well, my Peace Corps service ended…3 weeks ago now. I know, this is a late post. It’s been strange. Times have been strange. The past 2.5 years have been strange. Well, I guess life is just strange in general. But really, it’s been a bit surreal. I was so resigned to the fact that I was going to leave. I had my plan already. And then the day before I was going to leave to Poland, I was offered to stay in Moldova. !!!!!!!!!!! Such a strange life I lead.

December 1 was my official COS (Close of Service) date for Peace Corps. As of that moment, I was planning to go to Bucharest the next day for some days of spending time with friends there and then come back and head to Warsaw. I already had a bed waiting for me in Warsaw. On the 2nd day of my trip to Bucharest I received an e-mail about a job I had applied for in Romania that they wanted to Skype with me. Sweet. They offered for me to stay in Moldova to write a feasibility study in the hopes to bring their organization to Moldova and to make me country manager. Awesome! And that is where I stand now, finishing up with this report and just waiting to see if I am staying for certain.

Back to Bucharest. I had an amazing time there. I spent time with mostly Moldovans (can’t escape them!) and a Romanian friend. All 3 of these people I had only spent a very limited time with before, but it turned out that all together we were a very wonderful group! We hung out all day, everyday and all night, pretty much. It really was a perfect time there. Coming back to Chisinau was hard. I mean, I love Chisinau and I love Moldova (if it isn’t glaringly obvious already), but this was just such a perfect time with such great people that it was hard to pull myself. Not a bad first, and only week, of unemployment eh? Spend time with amazing people, party all week (I saw a popular Russian band called Motorama and a Romanian one called Firma), AND found a job–even if it only consists of a possibility at the moment.

Livia!

Livia!

Leave a comment