Stereotypes, avoid them.

So the other day I was being introduced to different people within the Raion Council by one of my partners. One of the offices she brought me to was that of the social assistance department. After I was introduced, I informed them (in Romanian) that I have a masters degree in social work. They seemed a bit shocked at this. They wanted to make sure that social work meant the same thing in both countries, and they asked if in the US it is also about helping the underprivileged and at-risk groups. Yes, it is. In the US, even we have poor. Even we have groups that are marginalized. Even we have people who do not have equal rights. Not everyone is rich and privileged. Shocking. I know. Thankfully there are wonderful people out there doing their best to change things and make this world a fairer place to live for all, regardless of social status or being born poor or rich or a minority.

Another stereotype I have encountered about America is that we have big problems with race and violence. Pretty much how the US views the rest of the world. Despair sells. Negativity is entertaining. Gang of Four has a song called “5.45” that really hits the point about the state of the news. I share their views (and most of their other views, in other songs, for that matter). Just look at the most recent terrorist attack fueled by race. Some people don’t want to view it as a terrorist attack, and rather as a mental health issue. Maybe it is. But isn’t all hate a mental health issue? I don’t know. I hate no one. White, black, male, female, gay, Muslim, transgender, Jewish, Arab, whatever. We are all the same. We are all in this life together, and we shouldn’t live our lives making it harder for others and ourselves.

There is also a stereotype, not of Americans, but about gypsies (Roma), how they are thieves, dirty, etc etc etc. It broke my heart a few weeks back when one of the volunteers said “I don’t ever want to work with gypsies”. Was like…wow. Not the attitude to have as Peace Corps Volunteer in my opinion. While it is excellent to be aware of your own stereotypes, you must lay them to rest, I think, when you are in a position such as this. It is like in my MSW program when there were people who only wanted to work within their OWN population, whether that was immigrants from their country or people of their religion. I mean, that’s fine and all that you’ve come across a need and want to address it, but at the same time, it is a bit simpleminded to think in such a way. My problem is opposite. It is one of my faults. I think TOO global and TOO broad. I want to help everyone. I need to buckle down one day and finally decide what to focus on. I’m only starting my career now though, I can do anything.

I’m sure I could say more on the subject, but I hate hate hate talking negative. I’d rather talk about ways to fix these problems.

Leave a comment